“Thai” Noodles with Chicken

I think this is by far one of my husbands favorite dinners that I make. The original recipe is from A Small Snipet. The first time I made these noodles I followed the recipe incorrectly. We didn’t notice it until I made it again and I discovered that I skipped over some ingredients. It’s handy that I did that,  because the missing ingredients are honey and soy sauce.

IMG_1501

To make the recipe gluten free, I just switched my chinese noodles with gluten free ones. I also make some chicken in reserved oil from the recipe to give it some protein. The way that I make it, it’s pretty spicy, so if you don’t like heat or if it hurts your stomach, I would either skip this recipe or use 1/2 to 1 tbsp crushed red pepper. Depending on my mood, I also make a small side salad to go with this.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup seasame oil
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1-2 tbsp crushed red peper (I typically use 1.5 tbsp)
  • 1 package chicken breasts (thinly sliced)
  • 1 – 1 1/2 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/2 cup crushed/chopped peanuts
  • 1/4 cup chopped chives
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Instructions:

1. Add the oils and crushed red pepp to a medium saucepan on medium heat. Cook for 2 minutes.

2. Drain the crushed red pepper from the oil.

3. In a medium pot, begin boiling the water for your pasta. Add some salt for flavor.

4. as your water is about to boil, take about one tablespoon of the infused oil and add it to a pan for your chicken. Turn the heat to medium/high. Once the oil is hot, add the chicken. Because the oil has a lot of flavor, I just season the chicken with salt and pepper on one side. To this to your personal preferene (I find about three small passes over each piece with the salt and pepper works nicely).

5. Add your pasta to the boilng water, turn down to a simmer, cover.

6. Flip your chicken (I’m bad and don’t time how long I cook the chicken on each side, but I would imagine 4 minutes on one side and 3 on the other). Remove it from the pan once it’s cooked.

7. Once your noodles are cooked, drain the water and add them to the infused oil. Toss.

8. For plating, I put the chicken on the plate and then layer the noodles on top. Then, I add the carrots, peanuts, and chives to my individual plate.

Leave a Reply

